North End Mazda Blog

All-New 2016 Mazda MX-5 Miata Revealed


The 2016 Mazda MX-5 Miata debuted with much fanfare on Sept. 3, 2014, at a special event in Monterey, California. Hundreds of thousands watched the live stream of the reveal, which was broadcast via YouTube. In homage to the sports car’s 1980s roots, British new wave band Duran Duran took the stage to perform some of their biggest hits. Twitter exploded with the trending hashtag #LongLivetheRoadster.

2016 Mazda Miata

If you missed it, you can watch the live reveal here:

It’s fitting that Mazda would bring a new version of its popular roadster in 2014, the 25th anniversary of when the company introduced the original MX-5 Miata. The now-iconic Miata helped revive what was once a dying class of automobiles: the 2-seat roadster. In the 1960s, British sports cars like the Triumph Spitfire and the MG B ruled the roads, but had fallen out of favor (and production) by the 1980s. The Miata has carried the banner for small, affordable convertibles ever since, winning a slew of prestigious automotive awards in the process.

Details are scarce at this point with regard to features and specifications of the new Mazda Miata, but its sleek, agile looks and storied heritage indicate that more awards and successes should be in its future. What we do know is this: The new Miata will be lower, wider, leaner, and meaner, with a much more aggressive, sporty appearance than it has had in recent incarnations. The 2016 model will lose roughly 220 lbs. from its already slight frame, which should improve both acceleration and fuel efficiency.  Pricing is expected to remain similar to that of the current Miata.

The staff at North End Mazda in Lunenburg, MA, is eagerly awaiting more details about this exciting development from Mazda. In the meantime, we’re happy to offer great deals on new 2014 and 2015 Miata roadsters that are in stock now. Give us a call today at (888) 805-1469, or visit our showroom at 747 Chase Road, Lunenburg, MA 01462.


Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.